Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the outcome of the vote."
Effective January 1, 2016, the State has changed the name of Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) to Texas License To Carry (LTC) in order to incorporate the Open Carry Laws into the same program. Starting January 1, 2016, all licensees may carry their handgun openly. For current license holders, as well as new applicants, no additional training or fee is required. The weapon is required to be secured in a holster. No hand carrying will be allowed. Additionally, the law does give a law enforcement officer the right to ask an open carrier to see his "concealed" handgun license. One other important change, the law also gives a private business owner, who does not have a problem with concealed carry, but prefers to not have open carry in their establishment, the right to post an official sign (30.07) at all entrances to prohibit the open carry inside their premises.
We have been conducting Texas Concealed Handgun Classes in San Antonio since 1995. Our instructor recently retired (September, 2014) from the Bexar County District Attorney's Office and starting with SAPD in 1960, has accumulated over 55 years experience in dealing with the law. He retired as a Master Law Enforcement Officer and Police Firearms Instructor as well as other professional certifications.
Believing most people can learn to shoot with practice, our class concentrates on knowing, understanding and recognizing the laws regarding the use of Deadly Force.
Our classes are not held as often as many other classes and we limit enrollment to an average of 18 people per class. We feel this makes our classes more hands on, more comprehensive and more time for practical applications based on real life events and cases.
Sammy Miller's vast ACTUAL experience analyzing, understanding, explaining and expertly testifying about the law, from many points of view, offers you a CHL instructor who has lived and breathed these laws for most of his life.
- Sunday, December 13, 2015
- Sunday, January 10, 2016
- Sunday, February 21, 2016
- Sunday, March 13, 2016 (DST STARTS)
Check In: 6:45-7:00 AM
Main Entrance to Bass Pro
Class Ends: 12:30-12:45 PM
- New Applicants $75.00
- Active Duty Military, Military Veterans & First Responders: $65.00
- New License:$140.00 (Issued for a minimum of 4 years)
- Over 60 New Lic:$70.00 (Issued for a minimum of 4 years)
- Military Veteran New & Renewal:$25.00
- Regular Renewal:$70.00 (Issued for 5 years)
- Over 60 Renewal:$35.00 (Issued for 5 years)
- Active Duty Military: Fee Waived
- Honorably Discharged Within 365 Days: Fee Waived